Impco CA125 question...

Propane, Butane, LPG, GPL, C3H8, C4H10
schwoch1

Impco CA125 question...

Post by schwoch1 »

Hi all, this is my first post for me, but I have been lurking for a while ;)

I am in the process of gatheriing parts to do a dual fuel conversion in my 1990 Volvo 740 with a non turbo 2.3 (B230F).
My main question is, can I modify a standard CA125M mixer to operate the same way as the CA125M-10 (full air valve lift). There is a considerable price difference between the two units and I am an ASE master certefied tech. with 15 years of experience, so a little modification work don't scare me in the least. Just looking at some of the poor pictures that I have of the -10 unit, it looks as if there is a vacuum solenoid that I presume puts full manifold vacuum to the mixer diaphragm to open the it fully. Am I thinking in the right direction or am I totally wrong, or do I even need to use the -10 unit????

Also 1 last question, I was told by some of the local so called "experts" that I am asking to make a bomb because the of the large intake plenum volume that most EFI intakes have, but when I see some converted Ford and GM V8's that have HUGE intake volume and they seen to operate just fine for hundereds of thousands of miles (just seen a 5.4 Ford V8 in a E250 van with 745,000 miles on it, all on propane)or should I just tell the so called experts to, um, mind their own business.

Thanks for any help that is received, and I am looking forwards to hearing back from you all!!

Mike Schwochert

franz

mixer

Post by franz »

The CA 125 will work fine without the solenoid, since fuel injection systems monitor manifold vacuum or mass airflow. Now, if it were a carbureted system, you would indeed need to lift the diaphram to avoid choking the engine.