Performance ford 351 v8 build

Propane, Butane, LPG, GPL, C3H8, C4H10
Millsy

Performance ford 351 v8 build

Post by Millsy »

Hi all, please be kind as I am just learning the lpg side of things, and I want to make a bit of a guide for built motors and lpg.
just got a 71 mustang with a gas research set up and looking to optimise the power (and hopefully fuel efficiency too)

351cleveland, with a recent rebuild (not by me), has been built for lpg dedicated. So been stroked to 393 (6.3L), 2v heads (with possible milling to up compression, as a compression test indicated 230psi, higher than standard). I am guessing a gas research cam, twin B2 converters and twin intake gas research units (don’t know what size or specs) and a 70ish L tank, hei upgrade and single plane manifold. Exhaust headers, double valve springs, roller rockers. 3.00 rear gear ratio on a c3 transmission. Somebody did it well. 0-100kph in 4.9 and quarter mile in 13.1@170 (gtech, and wheel spin a bit due to 215 rear tyres)

Fuel efficiency is shocking. Around town I get 30-35L per 100kms (7mpg). I get it’s a big motor, and I drive it hard, but I want some input to see how I can get my car faster (and hopefully better on fuel)

Ignition, hei with flamethrower 3 ign coil, ngk cooler plugs, around “7” heat range
Timing was originally 10deg initial and 30deg cent (no vac), I have just changed it last week to 8 initial, 28 cent and hooked vac to it (about 12deg, so 20deg at idle)
Is it true higher compression engines like less advance? I now get my lpg “premium” at supagas, which don’t add any butane to their mix, and saw idle went up due to the efficiency, so I would say I have 110 octane, what timing curve would be best for “premium” lpg and high compression?