Forum slow to load

Look here for announcements. Please make comments and ask questions about the board here too.
Post Reply
storm
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:10 pm
Location: NSW, Australia

Forum slow to load

Post by storm » Thu Apr 30, 2015 2:57 am

In the last week the forum has been slow to load on all of my computers at home. It used to load pretty quickly but since this last week it appears as though the css file isn't being read by the html file and there is no page formatting for about 5 seconds. All the text components are there but stuck on the left side of the screen, then after about 5 seconds the css kicks in and the page loads properly. I can't check this anywhere else but in comparison to other forums I visit as regularly this is the only forum that has this problem. Is anyone else experiencing this?
Every job is a self-portrait of the person who did it. Autograph your work with excellence.

Fuel flow requirements calculations viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1638

User avatar
BigBlockMopar
Posts: 382
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Forum slow to load

Post by BigBlockMopar » Thu Apr 30, 2015 8:54 am

The hoster is having some DNS problems it seems;

http://www.intodns.com/rasoenterprises.com
https://www.bigblockmopar.com
'73 Dodge Dart - 360ci - 11.3:1cr
MegaSquirt + HEI 7-pin timing control - Edelbrock AirGap - Cold Air Intake
IMPCO E / 425 mixer - A518 OD-trans - 3.55 gears - 225/50/17" tires.

User avatar
Steptoe
Posts: 1500
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:32 pm
Location: JAFA , New Zealand

Re: Forum slow to load

Post by Steptoe » Thu Apr 30, 2015 5:26 pm

Loaded slow in last couple days, but know quick nps here
My Spelling is Not Incorrect...It's 'Creative'

Frank
Site Admin
Posts: 880
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2004 2:17 pm
Location: Stevensville, ON
Contact:

Re: Forum slow to load

Post by Frank » Fri May 01, 2015 5:51 pm

I've checked page loading several times today but haven't noticed any slowness here in Canada. I checked with my web host and the following quotes are his his replies.

First Reply:
I have no idea why they are having trouble. I'm not blocking those countries, but there are a lot of servers between them and your site that they pass through so any one of them could be the reason for their issues, it's a hard thing to determine from here since we can't replicate the problem to troubleshoot.
I've tried your forum from here (in Florida right now) and it loads quickly for me and with all images. Maybe these users need to clear their cache? If they can get to the web site to load the text but not the images then it's not a dns issue. It's as if the images are being blocked somewhere along the line. Or, the images are missing in cache.
That's the only thing I can think of for now is cache or routing issues somewhere along the path from then to your site.
Have them clear their internet cache for your site. And also they could try a trace route from their computer to your domain to see what path it takes and maybe where a problem might be.
Follow up Reply:
Btw, http://www.intodns.com is a server in Romania. I block quite a few ip ranges from Romania that I get constant brute force attempts from, so likely this server is in that range and that's why the DNS check failed on that site. I'm not having a DNS problem, but I do have a Romania problem. Lol.

storm
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:10 pm
Location: NSW, Australia

Re: Forum slow to load

Post by storm » Fri May 01, 2015 7:55 pm

Hi Frank
The first reply doesn't make sense, I can get the images to load but they load slowly so it isn't a cache issue. Regardless of that I have cleared my cache and there is no difference.

I ran 2 trace routes

Code: Select all

michael@michael-laptop:~$ traceroute fuelsforum.rasoenterprises.com
traceroute to fuelsforum.rasoenterprises.com (74.204.188.32), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  1.033 ms  1.877 ms  5.085 ms
 2  203.1.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.1.203)  47.692 ms  57.537 ms  58.145 ms
 3  10.1.21.45 (10.1.21.45)  58.373 ms  58.939 ms  62.339 ms
 4  10.1.23.27 (10.1.23.27)  117.601 ms  117.639 ms  117.689 ms
 5  161.43.102.1 (161.43.102.1)  62.544 ms  62.842 ms  62.824 ms
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * 59.154.18.6 (59.154.18.6)  52.719 ms
10  203.208.191.21 (203.208.191.21)  210.133 ms 59.154.18.10 (59.154.18.10)  55.317 ms 203.208.191.21 (203.208.191.21)  210.527 ms
11  203.208.191.21 (203.208.191.21)  210.523 ms 203.208.172.186 (203.208.172.186)  214.962 ms 203.208.174.49 (203.208.174.49)  214.477 ms
12  203.208.171.142 (203.208.171.142)  210.852 ms ge9-10.br01.lax05.pccwbtn.net (63.218.73.101)  229.217 ms  220.283 ms
13  defender.ge5-6.br03.chc01.pccwbtn.net (209.8.108.74)  262.462 ms ge9-10.br01.lax05.pccwbtn.net (63.218.73.101)  231.028 ms  228.861 ms
14  defender.ge5-6.br03.chc01.pccwbtn.net (209.8.108.74)  258.828 ms  259.898 ms  258.968 ms
15  eqchihspcd80.chi.keepitsecure.net (74.200.92.86)  266.925 ms  259.947 ms  267.193 ms
16  * eqchihspcd80.chi.keepitsecure.net (74.200.92.86)  261.116 ms  262.573 ms
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
24  * * *
25  * * *
26  * * *
27  * * *
28  * * *
29  * * *
30  * * *
michael@michael-laptop:~$ 

Code: Select all

michael@michael-laptop:~$ traceroute rasoenterprises.com
traceroute to rasoenterprises.com (74.204.188.32), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  0.849 ms  1.535 ms  2.216 ms
 2  203.1.233.220.static.exetel.com.au (220.233.1.203)  48.019 ms  59.130 ms  60.171 ms
 3  10.1.21.45 (10.1.21.45)  59.484 ms  60.280 ms  60.799 ms
 4  10.1.23.27 (10.1.23.27)  60.875 ms  60.956 ms  61.048 ms
 5  161.43.102.1 (161.43.102.1)  60.497 ms  62.762 ms  63.156 ms
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * 59.154.18.4 (59.154.18.4)  61.011 ms * [This is Optus]
10  59.154.18.14 (59.154.18.14)  65.288 ms 59.154.18.10 (59.154.18.10)  64.907 ms 203.208.191.21 (203.208.191.21)  218.661 ms
11  203.208.191.169 (203.208.191.169)  228.598 ms 203.208.171.142 (203.208.171.142)  202.586 ms 203.208.174.49 (203.208.174.49)  210.545 ms
12  203.208.172.190 (203.208.172.190)  210.554 ms ge9-10.br01.lax05.pccwbtn.net (63.218.73.101)  209.948 ms 203.208.172.186 (203.208.172.186)  219.845 ms
13  ge9-10.br01.lax05.pccwbtn.net (63.218.73.101)  208.360 ms  214.384 ms  232.715 ms
14  defender.ge5-6.br03.chc01.pccwbtn.net (209.8.108.74)  259.938 ms  271.110 ms  262.501 ms
15  defender.ge5-6.br03.chc01.pccwbtn.net (209.8.108.74)  260.618 ms eqchihspcd80.chi.keepitsecure.net (74.200.92.86)  267.040 ms  259.889 ms
16  eqchihspcd80.chi.keepitsecure.net (74.200.92.86)  244.780 ms * * [This is Virtacore Systems Inc in Sterling, Virginia, United States) and is the last stop in the traceroute we never get the sites IP address]
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
24  * * *
25  * * *
26  * * *
27  * * *
28  * * *
29  * * *
30  * * *
michael@michael-laptop:~$ 
There is at least one stumbling block in Australia (21st century and we can't even get the internet right :roll: , to be fair Optus is owned by SingTel in Singapore) A quick search of various IPs in the trace route brings up a swathe of pages of complaints about Optus screwing things up.
A 2nd stumbling block appears in the USA
My trace route, even with 255 hops (maximum allowed), never reaches the IP of the website.

I can ping and get a response quickly though.
Every job is a self-portrait of the person who did it. Autograph your work with excellence.

Fuel flow requirements calculations viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1638

Post Reply