Considering building my own add-on feedback system

Propane, Butane, LPG, GPL, C3H8, C4H10
evranch

Considering building my own add-on feedback system

Post by evranch »

So as I've mentioned before my truck runs forever rich due to its large displacement. I started wondering if I can't get the right gas valve, maybe I could adjust the mixture some other way. I looked at the converter port that's supposed to compensate for turbo boost and noticed it changes the mixture rapidly. A tiny puff on it makes it rich and a sip makes it lean out. So what if I could apply a little vacuum to it sometimes? I do automation and controls for a living so why not?

I'm thinking:

- install oxygen sensor, normal or wideband
- install solenoid valve from converter diaphragm port to either manifold or air valve vacuum, probably air valve as not much vacuum is required
- put a measured bleed orifice on the other side of the port (if needed, maybe enough would leak in around the primer button) to return it to atmospheric pressure when not active
- set up a PID loop on a small microcontroller that pulses the solenoid to draw vacuum when the AFR is rich, leaning the mixture out
- some form of throttle position sensing, even just a microswitch to ensure it only comes in at cruise throttle. Maybe just a toggle switch for highway cruise for a start.

In theory that's all that should be needed to lean the mixture in accordance to the oxygen sensor. Wideband could probably be set up to balance exactly or target a true lean mixture, normal would swing rich/lean like a modern car does and stoich is probably the best it could do without getting overcomplicated with more sensors and mapping.