turbo propane set up

Propane, Butane, LPG, GPL, C3H8, C4H10
gearhead

turbo propane set up

Post by gearhead »

Hey!
So, i'm new to propane powered vehicles so i'd like to pick your collective brains as i'm planning to build a propane powered project for a daily driver. I am, however, not new to building complex projects or to turning wrenches. I'm a ticketed commercial transport mechanic(diesel mechanic) and I've got several projects under my belt. I've built a twin turbo 4bt cummins engine so i'm knowledgeable with turbo's and diesel fuel systems.
I've owned several turbo charged vehicles and I would like a small v6 diesel that can make a bit of power, but there really is no such thing. Gasoline is 1.30 per litre for premium and that is too rich for my blood. So propane is 69 cents per litre and is high octane so that's why I'm thinking i'd like to try propane!

So my plan is to drop a for 3.8 v6 into a Volvo wagon and turbo charge it. my goal is 300 whp(the factory 3.8 v6 makes 190 hp) and i'm wondering how realistic this goal is if i'm trying to do a draw thru propane carb'd system. or is fuel injection a better way to go?
I've been searching around the internet about diagrams and info on how to do this and i'm wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction. There just isn't much info on older propane systems and I don't have any real experience in working on them.

storm

Re: turbo propane set up

Post by storm »

By the prices you have written for the prices of fuel I'm assuming you are in Australia somewhere, it helps if you put this information in your profile.