1989 ford maverick

Let's hear all the gory details about your car and how it became alternative fuelled.
mudmav

1989 ford maverick

Post by mudmav »

Hi im a newbie and working on a ford maverick 4x4 which has been converted to LPG id say around the year it was bought 1989 , i have brought it to do a restore as its condition mechanically is quite good for age and seems like it has not been off road much in its life , these old 4x4s are usually covered in leaked and leaking oil underneath from all the seals both the extra 4x4 stuff and normal engine seals as well this one only had a leak where the PCV hose comes out of the rocker cover the hose had a split in it .
the reason im on this site is the guy i bought it off dissconnected the wires to the LPG tank and ive also seem to have one wire missing for some reason all i know is it dont work .
the little black box says ELKO ISSE and i have two wires red and black that go to the solenoid on the tank outlet so i figure ok these have been cut but just join back up black black red red etc now i have a blue wire taped to these two wires i figure is this for the gauge maybe but there are two pins and only one wire , i did a test and my tester lights up when you switch over to lpg on this blue wire i also noticed the red wire to solenoid lights up but solenoid does not open at all and is very weakly magnetic , i took actuator off and put power to it with a bolt in it and the bolt was stuck fast , now the post the actuator sits on is a bit grimy could this be the problem , or does the wiring have to be a certain way .